15 Sep Just how vegan IS that vegan burger?
Now more than ever seems like the best time to be a vegan or vegetarian. Take a trip to your local grocery store and there’s bound to be a section dedicated to animal-free products. Even former omnivores can find satisfying protein substitutes for their meat cravings.
Dining out is also more convenient. It might of been a headache before, but now you can find menus with vegan options or substitutes. No longer do you have to order sides or appetizers as an entree (unless you’re going out for tapas of course). Seems like for almost every hamburger, there’s a veggie patty by it’s side.
But how vegetarian is that veggie burger? Or how vegan is anything on a menu labeled, well, “vegan?”
Remember the phrase “cross contamination” from your home-ec class? It refers to when a food item is directly or indirectly exposed to bacteria. An example of this would be using a cutting board to chop raw meat, and then using it to cut veggies right after.
Although with health codes, you generally don’t have to worry about cross contamination when eating at a restaurant. As a vegan though, you want to make sure your food doesn’t get exposed to any animal products.
So let’s say that you’re dining with a few omnivore friends, they all order hamburgers, and you get a veggie burger. The food comes to the table, you have a great meal that adheres to your diet, and all goes well.
Or so it seems.
Realistically, what are the chances that venue has a seperate grilling area for vegetarian and vegan food? Would a restaurant that makes the majority of its profits off of animal based items really invest in this?
Chances are, your veggie burger might of literally been at a hamburger’s side. Even if the two might never of touched, it could still have been exposed to the juices of the other burgers or even grease from meat that was grilled beforehand.
On top of this, there are many items that might seem vegetarian or vegan, but aren’t. From the glance of a menu, a food might not have any meat in it, but it could have been cooked with animal fat. There might even be sauces that contain slight amounts of dairy or eggs. Caesar salad dressing and Bloody Marys (the worcestershire sauce) both use anchovies.
If you’re ever unsure, you can always ask the server. But, do you really want to be that customer that asks a million questions? Dining out is about comfort and hospitality. It could be a special occasion or you just didn’t want to cook that night. Regardless, you just want to sit down, relax, and enjoy a meal without any fuss.
That’s why at Cider Press Cafe, our kitchen is 100% vegan. From the prep to the cooking, there are absolutely no animal-based food items in the back of the house. Whatever your reasons for being vegetarian or vegan, be it ethical, environmental, or health related, you can finally dine in peace.
Vegan isn’t an afterthought here. It’s the main course… as well as the appetizer, the dessert, and the drinks.
Other restaurants might be cashing out on what they think is a “trend,” but to us, it’s a way of life. That’s because we’re vegans ourselves! Stop by Cider Press Cafe for Brunch, Lunch, and Dinner (or even for something on the go) to take a bite with some peace of mind!